The Cut Bar and Grill, The Rocks

I love steak and can never resist a good piece of steak, when my friend told me she wanted to shout me for my belated birthday dinner at The Cut Bar and Grill I was so excited! She said the 4 hours slow roast Wagyu was to die for, and it didn’t disappointed me at all. The restaurant is located at heart of the rocks right next to the Sake restaurant, parking there can be quite hectic so best to dine in early or catch a public transport.

I was a bit worried firstly because of deem lighting in the restaurant, which is greatest enemy of my food pictures. Thanks to my hubby who bought me a new Cannon EOS M and it behaved so well that even without flash, the picture still looks great! All the pictures in the post were taken by my new EOS M.

IMG_0243

Ratings
Food: 8/10
Atmosphere: 7/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 8/10

Average Price
Entrée: $12 – $36
Main: $35 – $70
Dessert: $9 – $14
Degustation: N/A 10% surcharge for groups of 10+
Corkage: No BYO, fully licensed
Cakeage: Free

Others
Ease of finding a car park: Hard
Ease of finding the restaurant: Easy
Brightness of restaurant: Dark
Noise Level: Noisy
Waiting time for foods: 10 mins – 15 mins
Booking time require: 3-4 days
Child friendly/High Chair: No

 
1-The Cut Bar & Grill
 

IMG_0225

IMG_0227

Prime beef tartare with melba toasts, $24

There wasn’t a lot of options on the menu, which is good and bad…  Sometimes less is better. I let my friend picked most of the dishes and she suggested to try the beef tartare. For someone who always like their steak to be cooked medium suddenly was offered to try raw beef could be a bit too adventurous for me, but it wasn’t that bad after all! It was chewy at the start and slowly melts in your mouth, you eat it with the different spices and condiments which I believed were capers, fresh herbs, pickle and Spanish onion.

IMG_0235

IMG_0236

4 hour slow roast sher F1 Wagyu standing rib, standard cut 300g, $45

I was looking forward the most to try this piece of steak, it looks a bit too raw when the waiter brings us the dish, but when I cut it with my knife and try my first bite it was so delicious and tender, full of flavours and there was a lot of the juice on the plate to keep the meat moist. Both me and my friend ordered the same main course, both huge and we could barely finished half of it.

 

IMG_0230

Garlic mushrooms, $7

IMG_0232

Green bean, kipfler and tomato with soft duck egg and garlic croute, $9

I choose this salad because I’ve never tried a soft duck egg, it tasted slightly richer than chicken eggs and was a perfect match with the garlic croute.

IMG_0241

IMG_0237

We would love to try the dessert but was just too full. There is always next time!

Service was awesome. They frequently checked on us but not too pushy. We dined for 3.5 hours but we were never rushed to finish our meal. The manager also gave us 2 glasses of complimentary champagne, I definitely hope to come back someday.

 

Like my blog? Feel free to leave a comment or subscribe to receive email notifications for update !

or Add me in Facebook and Twitter

ThankYouComeAgainSign_thumb2

Address:

16 Argyle St, The Rocks 
opening hrs: Mon – Fri: 12:00-15:00, 18:00-23:00

Ph:+612-9259-5695

website: www.cutbarandgrill.com/

Getting There:

Parking: Argyle St

Train Station: circular Quay

The Cut Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine @ Cooking Crusade
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 21:14:22

    Wonderful looking meal Wendy! That wagyu rib looks simply stunning – so succulent! Wow what an awesome pressie from your hubby, an EOS woohoo!

    Reply

  2. Gaby
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 17:51:09

    Great-looking meal. Is that a quail egg on the steak tartare?

    Reply

  3. Food is our religion
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 21:19:05

    Wow, steak looks so good here!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers